A User's Guide to Google Ads for Beginners (Previously Google Adwords)

What is Google Ads?

Google provides Google Ads, a platform for paid web advertising.

In 2018, the search engine business changed the service's name from Google Adwords to Google Ads.

It still functions largely in the same way: Users who conduct keyword searches see the results of their inquiry on a search engine results page (SERP). One of those outcomes might be a paid ad that specifically targeted that keyword.

You can see that the top of the SERP is completely taken up with adverts. They resemble organic search results almost exactly, with the exception of the bolded "Ad" at the top of the post.

Because the majority of traffic from search queries often goes to the first results on Google, this is advantageous for the advertiser.

However, acquiring Google advertising does not always guarantee the top position. After all, you'll probably face stiff competition from other marketers using Google Ads for the same phrase.

google ads


Let's look at how Google Ads function specifically in order to comprehend those rankings.

How Google Ads work

Google Ads uses a pay-per-click (PPC) business model. This means that advertisers use Google to target a certain keyword and place bids against other advertisers who are using the same phrase.

Your bids are "maximum bids," or the most amount you're willing to spend on an advertisement.

You will acquire that ad location, for instance, if your maximum bid is $4 and Google deems that your cost per click is $2! You will not be given the ad location if they decide that it costs more than $4.

A maximum daily budget can also be established for your advertisement. You'll never spend more than a certain amount every day on that advertisement, which will help you determine the appropriate budget for your digital advertising campaign.
google ads


For their bids, marketers have three choices:
  • Cost-per-click (CPC). how much you pay when someone clicks on your advertisement.
  • Cost-per-mille (CPM). the price per 1000 ad impressions.
  • Cost-per-engagement (CPE). How much you spend when a user does a particular action on your advertisement (signs up for a list, watch a video, etc).

Types Google Ads

You can employ a variety of Google's campaign kinds, including:
  • Search campaign
  • Display campaign
  • Shopping campaign
  • Video campaign
  • App campaign
You are able to select the kind you desire.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post